Our “I Really Need to Go to the Washroom” Signal

image

As you can imagine, at any given time in a Kindergarten classroom, there are hands up.  This is a very good thing because it shows that we are learning the rules of the classroom and are not just blurting out our ideas.  Not all hands, however, get answered right away.  This can be a problem when the question is “Can I please use the washroom?!!!!!”.  So, the children and I have decided on a special signal to use when they really need to go: a sign language “w” (for washroom).  If I see a child with their hand up and three fingers raised I will know that they need a quick trip to the restroom and will answer their hand right away.  Of course…I will also be watching for the telltale sign of children hopping from one foot to the other!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *